Posted by: E (The Third Glance) | August 30, 2014

A note to my readers

Dear Readers,

It’s been quite a long time since I’ve written a productive blog post. That’s only sort of not for lack of trying. I have one in the works that will hopefully come out soon that I’ve been dwelling on for a long time. It’s not my usual sort of post, either, but I think you’ll like it, assuming I ever get around to writing it well. It has been through nearly 8 drafts at this point, and I’m still not sure I like it enough to share. But life has interfered with my ability to function, and thus, this blog hasn’t been as active as I’d like.

Anyway… I’ve had a really rough year, physically. My body is slowly breaking down and no one can figure out why. I’ve had some extremely terrifying diagnoses thrown at me (and no one really seems to know what is right or not, even now). I’ve been on meds that made me have stroke symptoms. I’ve been on meds that made me want to jump off of a cliff. I’m now on even scarier meds that have warning labels saying “stay out of direct and/or artificial sunlight”. No one knows what is wrong with me, but something definitely is, so they just keep trying random meds. Every time they try, something else goes wrong. It’s very frustrating at best, and downright terrifying at worst. I’m not looking for medical advice. I have a good team of doctors who I trust, I’m just, complicated. I’m really hoping that this round of meds works. We shall see.

In the mean time, my cat has been going through similar medical insanity. He’s been hyperthyroid for nearly 2 years at this point, and we’ve never managed to get a handle on it for more than a month or so at a time. So finally, about a month ago, I gave in and decided to do the radioactive Iodine-131 treatment on him. It was a very stressful decision, since he has several other health issues that may or may not have been related to being hyperthyroid, and if we did the treatment, they could either get better, or they could get way worse. We decided, in the end, to treat him, and after a somewhat rough hospitalization and first week home, he seemed on the mend. I had to go away for a week, and the day I got back, between when my roommate left to pick me up from the airport, and when we got back (about 2 hours), both of his retinas had detached, and he went completely blind. Not a side effect anyone had even imagined, much less expected at all. It was pretty terrifying, for him and for me – he went to sleep and woke up blind. Not that there’s anything wrong with a blind cat, and we have been making good accommodations to help him adjust. However we got him into the vet and on the right meds very quickly, and as of yesterday, both of his retinas are re-attached, and he’s regaining his sight – the vet said you can’t even tell anything happened. And we learned that the treatment worked and his thyroid (at least right now) is doing great. So all in all, a rather stressful few weeks, but I am hopeful that we might actually be on the other side of it. I love my cat and I hate seeing him in pain. He seems to be feeling a whole lot better these days, though, so fingers crossed.

And finally, on the “this is great news” front, I finally have a paper published! And it’s in a very high profile journal. I’m very excited, and working very hard on the next several papers. Yay academics. I don’t know what I would’ve done this year without grad school to keep me going. I’m so glad that it is a part of my life.

That’s pretty much it for now. Hopefully more will come as things become less hectic and scary.

E

Responses

  1. That happened to one of our dogs, where his retinas detached. He can see now, though, since his eyes have eventually grown back? recovered? reattached? although probably not as well as he did before, but that is ok. He is happy.

    Good luck for you and good luck for your cat and SUPER CONGRATULATIONS ON YOUR PAPERS! ❤

  2. I AM REALLY SORRY ABOUT YOUR CAT. WONDER IF YOU CONSIDERED WHAT I WROTE ON FEEDBACK LAST TIME ABOUT NEW GERMAN MEDICINE. IT HAS BEEN WORKING FOR ME.IF YOU LET ME TELL YOU, WE PLAN THINGS AND WE FIGURE OUT THEY WILL COME OUT SOME WAY, BUT THEY COME OUT IN A WHOLE DIFFERENT WAY THAN WE EXPECTED. YOU INSIGHTS HAVE HELPED ME A LOT WITH MY BOY AND I HAVE SHARED SOME OF YOUR POSTS AT LOCAL MEETINGS WITH OTHER PARENTS. YOU HAVE TOUCHED SEVERAL LIVES. THANK YOU FOR SHARING.

    • I am not looking for medical advice, thank you. And please, all caps sounds like you’re yelling.

  3. Thanks for sharing.

  4. Congratulations for the publishing of your paper! You are truly amazing.
    I hope that you and your doctors will find the right medicines that will work without adverse side effects–keeping my fingers crossed.

    Ayano xxx

  5. Thank you for sharing so honestly. I’m sorry things have been difficult. But I also want to say: congratulations on the publication of your paper! Well done!

  6. Sending you virtual hugs, love and support. So awful to not know what’s going on and what might help.
    I’m thinking of you and while really sad to hear about your, and your cat’s, health issues, I’m jumping up and down with joy about the publication of your paper. Yay YOU! ❤

  7. Congratulations on your paper! Hope things get better on all fronts!

  8. Thank you for letting us know how you are doing. You and your cat are in my thoughts and I hope you have a swift recovery! Congratulations on the paper, that is awesome!

  9. I’m so glad your cat has regained his sight. My two cats died years ago, and I know how scary it is when they’re sick, and how heartbreaking when they die. aspies love their pets deeply.

    Hope you’ll do fine yourself with your medicine, and that the doctors find out the problem. it’s frustrating when you know something’s wrong, but you dont know what it is. good luck.


Please Share Your Thoughts!

Categories

