Posted by: E (The Third Glance) | April 10, 2012

Neurodiversity T-Shirt and Stuffed Tux

Click here to go to Think Geek's Neurodiversity t-shirt webpageToday, my new “Neruodiversity” t-shirt came in the mail today.

If you haven’t seen these yet, they’re being sold by ThinkGeek.Com (one of my favorite websites of all time, being, you know, a geek…) The proceeds from the neurodiversity t-shirt sales this month (in honor of Autism Awareness Acceptance month), are going to the Autistic Self-Advocacy Network, a GREAT, Autistic-run group working to better the lives of Autistic individuals. I really like my t-shirt (well, besides the fact that they use pink instead of any other color, I’m not a pink fan, but alas), which is why I’m talking about it here. I’m not advertizing for thinkgeek, but I do love this  shirt (and all of my other thinkgeek shirts, including the “You read my t-shirt. That’s enough social interaction for the day” and many others), and it’s super neat that it’s going to a great Autism Acceptance-based organization. We should all get them! 🙂

But that’s not the only reason this post is being written. If you’re a frequent customer of thinkgeek.com (and I admittedly am, though this was my first purchase for ME in over a year), you’ll know that they have this thing called “Geek Points”, that you can earn on purchases, then cash in later for bonus (free) products. Well, the other thing that came in the mail today, was my geek-points prize for today: a 12” tall stuffed Tux penguin (you know, the Linux Tux). Click on this to go to thinkgeek.com's tux plush pageGeeky and stuffed animal. I love stuffed animals, always have, always will, and so I was thrilled to have another coming to join me (by this count I’m at 304, and counting – a surefire way to make me super happy? stuffed animal!). My stuffed animals mean a lot to me, and at some point I’ll write a full post, but for now, I will say that I love my stuffed animals, and they (and the way I interact with them) are definitely identifiable as “Autistic”. But that’s the best part… my new stuffed animal came today, with my celebrate Neurodiversity t-shirt. And it couldn’t be a better combination. Yippee!


Responses

  1. Love the t-shirt and penguins. I can’t wait to read the post about your stuffed animals!

  2. Okay! I am on my way over to get my neurodiversity shirt! And one for my son, too! (And Grandparents and hubby!)

    ASAN is an awesome charity to support! Good for you! 🙂

    • Yay!! 🙂 And then you can all wear them together 😛

      My sister (probably not on the spectrum, but models herself after me quite a bit, so shares a lot of my traits) and I both have the “You read my T-shirt. That’s enough social interaction for one day” shirts… and sometimes we wear them together. My mother gets so frustrated by them, it’s fun…

      • I’ve never seen that t-shirt “..that’s enough social interaction for one day.” I will have to get one of those. I love, love, love that.

      • Yep, you should check them out… They have all sorts of awesome, geeky things. Actually a little while ago, my mother posted that on facebook, and complained “what does it say about my family when both of my daughters own this shirt and proudly wear it?” – I think it means we’re self-aware and awesome. 😛

      • LOL! I think it does too.

  3. I’d seen those tshirts before and loved them!! I didn’t know about Think Geek though!! I love stuffed animals too!! My husband thought I was *insane* when we moved in together and I have various HUGE boxes filled with stuffed toys. He said he’s never seen so many, he wanted me to throw them away but I was like hells to the no!! I kept all of the ones from my childhoon because I wanted to be able to give them to my children. I still buy them if I see one I like, but my tastes have changed somewhat. **lol**

    • Yes!! I love it when I hear about other adults and stuffed animals. My stuffed animals really mean the world to me. 🙂 Thanks for your comment!

  4. Will have to check the store! Not much into t shirt so much as a good baseball cap. My t shirt my wife’s daughter gave me for Christmas one year says, “the voices in my head tell me to play solitaire.”

    • That’s fantastic! Yeah, I am definitely a t-shirt person… but I always wear fleece jackets so sadly, its rare that people actually *see* my t-shirt!


Please Share Your Thoughts!

Categories