Posted by: E (The Third Glance) | April 30, 2013

E (The Third Glance) Celebrates 1000 Ausome Things! #AutismPositivity2013


Ahh, this year’s flash blog. It’s been an interesting one this year, putting it all together. But you know, that’s one of the best things about being Autistic. I get to be me, and by just being me, I can help others. The hyper-focus that I can maintain while constantly scheduling and updating the wordpress site definitely help too…

But on a more serious note, what are some of my favorite parts of being autistic? What makes being autistic “ausome”? Lots of things. Here are just a few things that I love about being autistic:

My stuffed animals. At 23, I have over 300 stuffed animals (312 to be exact) and I love every single one of them. They bring me great joy, and I love snuggling with them. If you ever want to make me happy, give me a stuffed animal.

Being a PhD student. I get to spend all day, every day, learning about my favorite subject in the world. I’m paid to perseverate on it. If that’s not ausome I don’t know what is.

Having super-senses. Sometimes this is not so ausome. I often get overloaded and this can lead to meltdowns. I have trouble eating and wearing most types of clothes (but not clothes is an even worse option!) But I rally do enjoy being able to hear everything that goes on all over the place. I like knowing what’s going on and how to find it.

Facts. Facts are awesome. There are lots of facts. I take pride in being a walking encyclopedia about a number of things, and really enjoy learning new facts.

My kitty, who is without a doubt an autistic cat. He’s a sweet, loving cuddly feline who is terrified of loud noises and people, except me. I think my neurology gives us a special bond. He was in the shelter for 9 months before I took him home.

Flapping for joy. Stimming for the love of the movement. Twirling in the rain. (as long as I can dry off immediately after :P)

Playing the piano for hours on end while I let the music carry me away from where I am.

My wonderful friends who take me as I am and celebrate me for it. Those people who take The Third Glance.

And finally, knowing that I am autistic is one of the most ausome things about autism. Knowing that there is a “why” for all the reasons I’m different from my peers. That there’s an explanation for all the horrors of my childhood, for all the difficulties I face on a daily basis. For the disconnect between me and most people. Knowing that there are others like me. And a whole world out there waiting to accept us with open arms, and let us be unequivocally ausomely autistic.

Responses

  1. Thank you!!

  2. My 15yo daughter with ASD loves to collect stuffed animals too. I’ve been constantly frustrated about what I’ve perceived as her childishness, clinging t something like that, mainly because the toys take up so much room. After reading your post I’ve decided that she is not alone, maybe there is a soothing affect for her Aspergers from the toys, and I should not try to get her to give them up anymore. If she ever wants to she’ll do it on her own. Thanks for the insight.

    • Oh Stephanie, thank you so much for your comment. 🙂 I’m so glad that my post has helped you see that your daughter’s love of stuffed animals is her own, and not a bad thing. For me, my stuffed animals are my best friends, and they are one of the most important parts of my life. Taking them away would just about kill me. Several times, I tried the “put some in a box, and leave it out of sight for a month (or two or three) and whichever ones you can remember, you can keep, the rest go” – I’d remember every single one. They give me comfort, they make me happy, and that’s what matters. I recently moved them all across the country, and they now line my room, and every time I walk in, I’m super happy… and I get to cuddle them in my own special spot where they can be loved forever. 🙂

  3. I agree that there is a reason why for everything. In some levels, I feel that our society are trying to eliminate what makes autistic people autistic. In some ways, it makes sense (since there are certain rules and expectations for people to follow). But in some other ways, it really doesn’t.

    When I first started this autism journey, I wanted to be as “normal” as I possibly can. I wanted to conform to as many as the social norms as possible so that people can accept me. But now that I got to understand myself better and chatted with a good bit of OT peers with other disabilities, I realized that sometimes I was so blurred by what NT’s expect of everyone that I said something I shouldn’t have said to autistic individuals over the time as I was learning more about autism.

    Yes, on the surface to my OT peers, I have seemed to embrace autism quite well. But I know that deep inside, I still got a lot of work to do.

  4. E ~ I have spent the last hour reading and being totally mesmerized and captivated by your posts. I am going through a period of “disconnect” in terms of being able to relate to/understand the intricracies of my blessed ♥ 9 year old son’s behavior, issues, fears, anxieties. You undoubtedly know the term “parallel playing”..noted in in every single one of my son’s IEP drafts. Well, I feel that I have been “parallel single parenting”. Your candor and prose has opened so many doors for me and concurrently my son. I am uncharacteristically speachless *smile*. Thank you SO very much. You’re a total Rock Star. ~ Melanie..

    • Thanks Melanie, for your lovely comment. Please continue to read, and other autistic adults too. All I really want is to show people how my brain works (and learn how theirs work too…) 🙂


Please Share Your Thoughts!

Categories

