Posted by: E (The Third Glance) | April 1, 2013

Autism Acceptance Month 2013

As I sit here this fine April 1, and think about just how much stuff I have to get done over the next 2 days, I really didn’t have any energy to write a full-length post for the beginning of the month. My life is super hectic right now – I’m a PhD student, soon-to-be PhD Candidate, working on about 6 different projects all at once. I have so many major deadlines in the next couple of days that I really shouldn’t be doing anything but work. And I wouldn’t have it any other way. I love my life, my job, and my research. I have found a niche that I am happy in, that I am productive, and a contributing member of the world.

But instead of working on the 3 different writing projects I have, I am witting down to write a blog post. Because today is a special day. It’s the beginning of an entire month, during which a small part of the world does its best to convince the rest of the world that people like me are a plague on this earth, and that they should be “aware” of us, so that they can make sure we don’t cause too many problems. Somehow this doesn’t seem quite right. But there’s also an amazing small slice of the world that spends April rallying to show the world that people like me, we exist. And we’re not going anywhere. And the world is a better place because we are a part of it, because every human deserves the respect owed to them by other human beings, and has something to bring to the world. That “normal” is completely over-rated, and that those of us who fall on the other side of “normal”, are just as awesome and valued as everyone else. And that is Autism Acceptance.

And so, my friends, this April, I’m not just going to talk about how important acceptance is. If I learned anything in high school English class, it was “show, don’t tell”. So during this month, I’m going to be introducing you to a number of wonderful people in my life who truly embody autism acceptance, and tell you about our friendships and interactions. These are people, some of whom know my diagnosis, some of whom do not, but who accept me and treat me like a whole human being. Their honesty, friendship, and respect, remind me of what is possible. So please check back here over the course of the month, to see some real life examples of autism acceptance in action. Who knows, maybe it will inspire others to do the same.

Happy April!

p.s. No, I’m not promising daily posts, or weekly posts, or anything. I will be posting sporadically, though, and with any luck, with a bit more frequency than I have been of late.

p.p.s. I just realized that it is April Fools Day. This is not an April Fools post. I don’t do April Fools. See last year’s April Fools Day post for my history with the “holiday”, which I wish I liked more…


Responses

  1. my autistic daughter, my autistic son, and my autistic self thank you for sharing; and so do are significant NT others😉

  2. I hear how stressful this is! I am the same way myself in a sense.

    You probably will notice that I changed my Twitter profile picture for this month- because I want to promote both OT and autism awareness month. Some OT students saw that and they are grateful that I am one of their colleagues.

  3. I’ll look forward to your posts as always, E.! It’s time to dump the old fears and misconceptions about people on the autism spectrum, and to appreciate their contributions– and the humanity that WE ALL share!


Please Share Your Thoughts!

Categories

