Posted by: E (The Third Glance) | November 12, 2012

An Autistic’s Holiday Survival Guide 2012 Edition, parts 1-3

With the US Thanksgiving coming up, as well as the typical December Holiday Season, I thought I would re-up my “An Autistic’s Holiday Survival Guide”, a series of posts that were some of my very first posts. They were a little late, put up between Christmas and New Year’s Eve, so I figured I’d start earlier this year.

The background to these is that my mom is obsessed with holidays. They’re her favorite parts of the year, and she absolutely loves going to and hosting parties. The three posts below include some of the tactics I developed over my life to survive, and sometimes even enjoy these otherwise miserable situations.

Holidays can be sensory-torture. They disrupt routines, they require fancy clothes, there are lots of people, all of whom want to talk at you and have you respond. There are strange places and smells and foods. They can smell disaster for a sensory-phobic, social-phobic, routine-loving autistic like me. But with just a few simple modifications, I’ve been able to change holidays from a terrifying, miserable situation to something that I can not only survive, but on rare occasions, actually enjoy.

I’ve linked last year’s posts here, and will be adding to the survival guide this year as I think of things. For now, here are parts 1, 2, and 3 of An Autistic’s Holiday Survival Guide:

Part 1 – Clothes

Part 2 – Attending Parties

Part 3 – Hosting

Stay tuned for more topics, and feel free to suggest ideas and ask questions! I’m happy to address any issue I feel comfortable discussing, so if you have something you’d like to hear about, please ask. If I feel like I can respond within my abilities and experiences, I will make it into a post. (I know that sounded lukewarm – I would LOVE for people to contribute, either their own experiences, or if they have questions/scenarios you would like addressed) Happy Holiday Season, everyone! Here’s to happy holidays for everyone involved. If this series expands a lot, there might be a potential for an e-book compilation to distribute for next holiday season.


Responses

  1. I’m looking forward to these posts. Maybe they will help me to make the upcoming holidays a bit less stressful for my autistic son. Thank you, E.!!

  2. Hey that e-book or even a paperback would be an awesome christmas gift. For me at least.

    • 🙂 We’ll see. I’m SUPER SUPER busy this December (barely time to think about and read anything) but I think I might try to make it happen for next year.🙂

  3. Thank you for reposting these. They’re all very helpful and I’m looking forward to what (if anything) you decide to add to them! My husband and I have already entered into holiday party “negotiations” to decide which we’ll be attending.🙂

    • Thanks🙂 I will be adding. Just a little overwhelmed with life atm

  4. Personally its the worst time of year of me

  5. As a parent, trying to help her ASD children on the spectrum through the craziness of this festive season, thank you. From the bottom of my heart, thankyou.

    • 🙂 Please let me know if there’s anything you would like me to discuss, as well. I’m glad to know that these posts have helped some.

  6. I’m going to echo Marita. As my Aspie son begins to hit puberty, I’m so grateful for insights such as yours.


Please Share Your Thoughts!

Categories

