Posted by: E (The Third Glance) | August 8, 2012

Long Radio Silence – but I’m still here!

Hello from Europe! I haven’t forgotten the blog, but I’ve been so busy doing field work and working on transporting samples and had pretty bad internet, so I’ve not even looked at my google reader in over a week. (Yikes, this is rare for me, usually I’m reading it at least two times per day…) Anyway, I just wanted to pop in and let you all know I’m doing very well, I’ve survived my field work, and dealt with my samples, and now I’m happily enjoying visiting France and speaking exclusively French – this is the most English I’ve had all day! I’m very proud of myself for being able to use another language so well – the other country I was in was an utter disaster in terms of language skills… I’m headed back to the States in a few days, and once I’ve caught up on my reading, I’ll write some more posts, and finish updates about how things have been going abroad. Then, I hope, I have another few more powerful posts up my sleeves 😉

But in the mean time, a little story from the summer class: I got an award for my research at the summer course! 🙂 I’m very happy about this, but ironically, the prize was a bottle of champagne… I don’t drink, and by the time I got the award, nearly every one of the students knew this, so when I got the award, we all just laughed. Actually receiving the award has a little story too – we were having a banquet, and it had been going on for about 3 hours, and I was exhausted, so I went outside to take a walk and be away from the hubbub for a little while… so when I walked back to the room, I heard everyone clapping and cheering, so I snuck into the side, and went for the wall, figuring I’d wait there and then head to my seat after. But instead, everyone goes “She’s right there!” and dragged me out into the center of the room. I think I might’ve turned about 8 different shades of red, but I still survived. It’s pretty exciting, that my research is being recognized! 😀

 

p.s. Over the past month, I’ve been nominated for 2 different blogger awards… since I’ve been blogging much longer than when I received my last bloggy-award, I am both very honored, and am planning on actually completing both of the silly little chains – I think they’re entertaining. However, unfortunately, since I’ve had very little internet time, and it’s been incredibly scattered, I’ve forgotten where one of them came from – if you’ve included me in one of your blog-games recently, I apologize profusely for forgetting which one of the amazing community members you were, and if you want to either leave me a comment here with the link, or shoot me an email (see the “about me” page), and I’ll join in. Otherwise, you can fume in silence about how I’m inconsiderate, but please understand, I remembered that someone did this, and given the amount of information overload and scattered internet-related thoughts I’ve had in the past month, plus the severe lack of routine, and serious missing of my cat, I’ll hope you’ll forgive me and be awesome and let me know, so I can give a proper shout out to your blog. 🙂 Because it’s a blog I really enjoy. 🙂 (No really, I wouldn’t have seen it if not, the past few weeks, since I’ve been selective about how I use my limited internet time)

Responses

  1. Hi E
    Welcome back ! I missed you. Glad to hear about the research award (& I nominated you for a bloggy award, clearly not as prestigious but more fun than champagne 😉

    • Yep 🙂 Thanks for the reminder! 🙂 (And the award ;)) – more fun than Champagne, definitely!

  2. missed you, glad to have you back!

  3. Hi E.

    Can you handle one more? I’m in the process on passing on the Versatile Blogger Award (about 6 months overdue;-) and you are on my list. The post isn’t completed yet, the draft has been sitting for a while but I was expecting to finish it soon. However, if you’ve already received 2 other blog awards recently would you like this one as well, or is it too much extra work?

    (I know that you did receive the VBA in the past already (that’s how I found your blog;-) but you rejected it at that point due to only having blogged for a short time… which is different now).

    • Aww thanks 🙂 Yeah, I could do another – it will be entertaining. I might have a “monster-post” with lots of blogs. And a good chance to shout out to all the awesome blogs I do read. 🙂

      • Great then:-)

  4. Congrats on your research being recognized!

    When I was a TA in law school, I offered a prize at the end of the semester, part of which was a batch of my homemade chocolate chip cookies. The guy who won was diabetic :-/ Fortunately, he could use the study aid I also included!

  5. Done… I’m hereby nominating/awarding you for the Versatile Blogger Award🙂


Please Share Your Thoughts!

Categories

