Posted by: E (The Third Glance) | May 5, 2012

Autism and Sarcasm… a sarcasm-fail story

I’m super busy right now, with oral exams coming up, midterms, papers, presentations, and everything else that being a graduate student entails. I’m also working on a couple of longer posts. But until then, let me share a funny little moment from this past week…

They’re shutting down the mailbox near my building. The next closest mail drop off point is several miles away, so I’m frustrated. This was a topic of conversation in my grad student office yesterday morning, as we all use the mailbox. It’s being shut down due to “insufficient use”.

My officemate walked in and said “Oh, just FYI, they’re closing down our mailbox.”

I responded “I know” (truthfully, I had noticed the sign a couple of days ago).

She then followed up with “’Due to insufficient use’…”and exclaimed “what the h*ll does ‘insufficient use’ mean?!”

So I responded “It means we don’t mail enough sh*t”.

And then she congratulated me on using sarcasm. She made a pretty big deal out of it… “E, I don’t think I’ve ever heard you using sarcasm before. Nice job! I’m proud of you…”

I wasn’t being sarcastic.

Ah, the foibles of an NT and an Autie trying to have an early morning conversation.

Serves me right for answering her question! 😛

 

Responses

  1. I know just how you feel. They removed the mailbox at the end of my street about a year ago, “due to insufficient use.” I miss that box! I used it all the time and took it as a personal affront from the @#$!! post office when they took it away! I THOUGHT I mailed enough sh*t!!!

  2. So I guess now this is really about irony???

  3. LOL. Oh well.

  4. “I wasn’t being sarcastic” – LOL! That is classic. Thanks for the laugh!

  5. I can’t see why she’d assume your reply was sarcastic, seems factual to me.


Please Share Your Thoughts!

Categories

