Posted by: E (The Third Glance) | March 31, 2014

Autism Acceptance Series: How I plan to survive April and spread Autism Acceptance

Tomorrow, April 1st, is the beginning of Autism Awareness Month. How ironic, that it starts on April Fools Day. Or perhaps how fitting, since of course, so much of “autism awareness month” is really just one big practical joke. Or maybe that’s what I wish was the case. Anyway, I digress. Of course, I assume everyone who reads my blog on a regular basis, is very much so aware of the fact that April is a month of heightened discussion of autism. Most of us are probably up to our eyeballs in “awareness”, and actually dread the month. Me? I try not to let things get to the point of utter dread. Especially things that are out of my control. I spend so much of my life dreading things that are out of my control already, that I just have learned to pick my battles.

Instead of condemning April, or telling everyone which charity they should be donating to or scorning, I’m going to try to do something a little bit different. My spoon level has been far below even “low” for a while (hence the very few posts), so I can’t make any promises of daily posts or anything, but I am going to try to post much more frequently this April. I’m hoping to write a series of short posts highlighting autism acceptance moments from my daily life, to show what autism awareness, and indeed, acceptance looks like in practice. Because after all, we don’t just want people to be aware that this mysterious “autism” thing exists… we want people to know that we are people, with likes, dislikes, personalities, and interests. We are friends, siblings, parents, children. And even though we live in a world where things are often too loud, too crowded, too busy, and too much, we deserve the respect that every person on the planet deserves. And we want to show people who might not really know what autism *really* looks like, that they, too, can play a part in helping to make our world, and in turn, the whole world, a better place.

So check back soon, my lovely readers, I hope you enjoy my April Autism Acceptance Series.

Responses

  1. Brilliant! I am looking forward to this series, this will be very educational and important. I will link to it in my blog because others should be aware of this series. Thank you!

  2. Awesome! I’m looking forward to a good month of reading good writing. (In my mind the kind of awareness you’re planning to write about is the best kind of all.)

  3. I’m looking forward to your series! I mostly use a combination of denial and ignoring vast parts of the interwebs to get through April. :)

  4. Great post. It made me think I need to post as often as I can for one of my blogs for Autism Acceptance Month.

  5. “Tomorrow, April 1st, is the beginning of Autism Awareness Month. How ironic, that it starts on April Fools Day. Or perhaps how fitting, since of course, so much of “autism awareness month” is really just one big practical joke.” :-)


Please Share Your Thoughts!

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,219 other followers

