Posted by: E (The Third Glance) | February 3, 2014

Introducing… StimmyKnitting!

A break from my regularly scheduled posts to tell you about a new adventure I’m embarking upon…

Most of my regular readers will remember a post I wrote a couple months ago discussing one of my hobbies. I’m a knitter. I knit because I love the repetitive feeling of each stitch. It’s calming, comforting, and it makes really gorgeous products. For me, knitting really is a stim. See, world, autistic stimming is awesome :)

A number of people asked me after that post if I ever sell my knitted products. I generally haven’t, they just sort of pile up in my closet until I figure out what to do with them. So I thought about it a bit, and I decided that it might be fun to sell some stuff – after all, if I sell some knitted stuff, I can afford to buy more yarn and make more things! And that is always fun.

So on that note, I have created an Etsy store. It is (fittingly) called “StimmyKnitting”. You can access it through this link or from the side bar.

I’ve got a few things up right now, mostly fingerless gloves and a few hats. I also tried my hand at an infinity scarf that a friend asked me to make for another friend of hers, and it turned out so well, I made another! It’s super gorgeous and soft yarn. If I wore scarves, I would totally want one for me.

At any rate, I just wanted to let you all know that this exists… If you see something you like, but it’s not in the right color or size, let me know – I’m happy to take commissions, and at least sometimes, I like trying to develop new patterns, too. As you can see, I’m rather fond of blues and greens.

Some things I currently have up in my etsy store include: (images link to the store)

Hats:

Turquoise Hats

Blue and white pom pom hat

Fingerless Gloves:

Green fingerless gloves

Blue fingerless gloves

A gorgeous turquoise Infinity Scarf that a friend commissioned from me, but that I got super excited about and made another one… it matches the turquoise hats above :)

Turquoise Infinity Scarf

I also have a facebook page you can like if you want to see new items as they go up in the shop.

I don’t plan on doing any more major advertising on the blog, but I did want to let you all know that I am trying this. We’ll see how it goes!

p.s. I ship at cost, estimated by USPS cheap parcel post – unfortunately, for those of you who live outside the US, it is expensive to ship things overseas. I’m sorry :(

Responses

  1. These are really gorgeous! I love the fingerless gloves, I’ll have to keep them in mind when we head towards winter down here. Best of luck with the store.

    • Aww thanks, Bec! :) Let me know if you have a preferred color and send me some measurements of your hands, and I’ll make some that fit you perfectly (or at least, aspire to fit you perfectly…)

      • Oooh a custom-made pair, how exciting! I will do just that.

  2. I used to knit, but I haven’t in a while. I got in trouble with my teachers a lot for knitting in class, but I kept doing it (I was and am an awful child). You’re much better at knitting, though. Good luck with the store.

    • Thanks :) I love knitting, it makes me so happy. But I never did it in class for fear of getting in trouble – I was always scared of the teachers. Thanks for your comment :)

  3. This is so exciting! They’re all gorgeous. I especially like the striped hat.

  4. Excellent post! I loved how you described knitting as stimming. I too have a creative pursuit that is my stimming. I love taking old chip bags to make mosaics, handbags, wallets, and book covers, plastic bags to turn into handbags and art, receipts into coasters, straws into flowers and heart-shaped pins, bottle caps into draddles and wall hangings toilet paper rolls into wall art. This post has really opened me eyes and I hope soon people will see the real world of stimming.

  5. I’m in awe of you. What an amazing person you are. It’s inspirational. You
    are letting others who had no hope be able to look at what you have accomplished. I applaud you. I am humbled by my silly blogs, they are nothing. How I wish more would be able to read your story,this is something
    for public access. I want to help you get published to share your uphill tale of wonder. Nancy Ann Prohira ,thank you for making me stop and read something I’ll never forget.


Please Share Your Thoughts!

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,257 other followers

