Posted by: E (The Third Glance) | March 16, 2012

Parents of (Awesome) Autistic kids, please share your stories!

Dear Blogosphere,

I saw this blog post yesterday morning – Parents.com wants stories from Autism parents, because you know, what’s better to celebrate “Autism Awareness Month” than real life stories? I really enjoy reading “Love That Max” and have been following Ellen’s blog about her son Max, who loves purple (me too!), Cars 2, and has Cerebral Palsy, for several years. Her call for stories shares the idea of Autism Awesome-ness month, and I wanted to say outright that I have no problem with her post.

So I was thinking it’d be awesome to spread this around to the supurb parents/bloggers out there, who will tell honest, but not degrading stories about their kids. Basically, flood Parents.com with “my child is not a tragedy, s/he is amazing” and “I love my kid despite (and quite often because of) the difficulties, because they are so much more than just a list of symptoms. They are unique, wonderful human beings and I love them and will do whatever I can to help them grow and thrive” type of stories. Try to get them to outnumber the inevitable “my kid was stolen from me by the evil of vaccines. they are stuck in their world, and it sucks” that will probably come from this. Wouldn’t it be nice, if, for once, April was less about the “tragedy of autism” and more about the Autistic people themselves? Parents get nearly all the spotlight during the month, so let’s hear some parents’ voices that are kind, hopeful, loving, and accepting, and try to flood out the very loud and vocal negative ones.

So that’s where you come in. If you are a parent of an (awesome) kid on the spectrum, I encourage you to send in some of your more positive stories to parents.com. And if you like the idea and have a blog of your own, please spread the word and encourage other parents you know to participate! Let’s show the world (or at least, Parents.com), during Autism Awareness month, that Autism isn’t about tragedy. There’s lots of awesome there, too. And during this month that is dedicated to spreading awareness, let’s spread the awesome.

And be sure to check out the post written by OutrunningTheStorm this morning for her perspective as a parent about this as well.

Happy Friday, everyone!

Responses

  1. Done and done. I hope they do post my entry because my son Jacob is an awesome child who happens to have Autism. He is about as far from a tragedy as anyone can be.

    People who cannot see how awesome Jacob is, they are the tragic ones.

    Love your blog, btw. Great job. Please keep it up!

    • Thanks! And thanks for the comment. :) I hope they post yours as well.

  2. Reblogged this on Flappiness Is… and commented:
    A worthwhile project. :)

  3. My younger son is 25 and severely autistic. I won’t let myself think of him as “tragic.” Jason is a capable, intelligent, healthy, and handsome young man. He lives in a community-based group home and attends a day-hab program 5 days a week, where daily living skills and job skills are taught. Jason and his house mates eat dinner at a restaurant once a week, go grocery shopping (accompanied by staff), go to the beach, the library, and to cook-outs in summer. They are happy young guys– not “tragedies.”

    I figure it this way: God made Jason knowingly and lovingly. God doesn’t make mistakes. Jason, and all other autistic people, are exactly as they were meant to be. They each have God-given gifts and they each face challenges in life– as we all do! Seeing these people as tragic disappointments and catastrophic problems in our lives? Now, THAT is the REAL tragedy!!

    Accepting the challenge of helping our children as much as we can and accepting the reality that we cannot do everything ourselves will eventually bring us peace. My son has amazed me with his strengths and inner resources over the years! He has demonstrated such courage, resourcefulness, and independence! We are very, very proud of him and we love him more than I can express. He is a bright light of hope in our lives.

  4. i seen a link to your blog from someone that i follow on FB, and i love it! thanks for putting this up here because i didn’t know about parents.com doing this. i will most definitely put up a story about my wonderful girl. thanks again!

  5. I found you blog via twitter. Great post. I never see my children as tragic; I see them as wonderful and unique people with some amazing talents. Yes there are times that are difficult but many of those difficulties stem from the attitudes of other people, not my children. I often say that its not the autism or aspergers that is the issue but society’s response to my children that causes me the biggest problems.

    • Thanks for stopping by! I love how many parents are coming out and saying how they have awesome kids. :) And yes, I agree – disability is, in a lot of ways, a societal construct. Sure, people have different abilities and disabilities that they have to work with and around, but really the problems stem from how others respond. Thanks for commenting :)

  6. Agree! I see myself as a new wave of parents who are celebrating autistics (our children and our friends). Trying to do this as part of Thinking Person’s Guide to Autism and my own blog, I recently wrote “Autistics haven’t had the time or space to be heard that we parents and professionals have had. Their stories are valid and valuable. They’ve been left out of conversations that we’ve had more participation in.” So, thank you, again, for this wonderful invitation.

    • And we Autistics are so grateful to you, too. And I don’t believe there is no place for parents’ voices – you do, after all, raise us and care for us, and help us live our lives. Especially this call, which is from Parents.com, after all, is a great place for parents to let their voices be heard. I hope you submit something amazing. :) Thanks for the comment!

  7. I love nothing more than talking about my son Ross, he’s 9yrs old and ASD. He is the most joyful thing in our lives. Over the years we’ve had lots of tears, tantrums and most of all, lots of laughter. We also have our son Jamie, he’s 17yrs old and Ross adores him and Jamie loves him very much too. My husband and I could not imagine our lives any other way. There is good days and bad days. Ross recently won a YOUNG ACHIEVER AWARD, and he went to the Town Hall to have it presented to him. I thought Dad was going to burst with pride and we were all so very proud of him. But a few months before it was a different story. Ross was having real problems with knowing who’s in charge and following the rules at school. But working along side the school we were able to steer Ross in the right direction. Lots of picking him up from school when he was kicking off, and then with us trying to lay down the appropriate punishment that Ross was able to understand. Then eventually the penny dropped and not without the odd hiccup he has not looked back.

  8. Hi my name is Sean Sullivan.

    I am a 27 year old Autistic. Who is trying and succeeding at improving my mind to the point where I can get a masters in what ever area I choose. In the past I have had mental, physical, and psychiatric, pain and trauma done to me by others. In short that motivated me to improve myself, which includes my intellect, demeanor, and me as a whole. I also like public speaking and sharing my experiences among other things. I know I have a long way to go, but I will never give up!

    • Hi Sean, thanks for sharing your story! Good luck with your masters! :)


Please Share Your Thoughts!

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,277 other followers

